Ramblings on healthcare, medical education, and life with a spinal cord injury
Random header image... Refresh for more!

About

I’m a 31 year-old male from Manhattan, currently living in Cleveland, Ohio, and attending medical school at Case Western Reserve University as a member of the Class of 2013.  This is my story about the injury I sustained to my spinal cord in late January 2008: how I sustained it, medical details on the injury and lots about rehab and recovery.

At this point, my physicians are unable to provide an accurate prognosis as to whether or not I will be able to get out of the wheelchair for good.  I can walk unassisted with a walker, for increasingly long distances, however several accessory and supporting muscles still have a long way to go.  There’s no telling if or when I will plateau and what the limits of my recovery will be.  But I am hopeful, and working hard every day to make progress either way.

I welcome questions and comments from any and all people – those I know personally, those I don’t,  those who are interested in the mechanics of living with a spinal cord injury, those who are just curious and everybody else.  No subject is taboo, although I would ask that if you’re going to ask about or share something on the personal side, please e-mail me.  Although I do reserve the right to respond to a specific question with just general details about the range of outcomes for various situations and avoid giving out TOO much personal info.  :)

By default, I don’t use people’s names here unless they explicitly tell me it’s ok.

Be Sociable, Share!